This month you will see a change in the Dropbox tool. You can now hide a Dropbox folder without changing its start and end dates!
Note that at the time of this posting, if you create a New Dropbox folder in your course, it will be hidden by default and you will have to turn the new setting off. There are two ways of doing this:
First, you can change this setting when you are first setting up your Dropbox folder. To do this:
- Click New Folder.
- Give your folder a Name, and set up your Properties as you like. Then click the Restrictions tab.
- Deselect the Hidden from users checkbox, then click Save and Close.
If you did not deselect the Hidden from users checkbox, you can also “un-hide” the dropbox using the drop-down menu next to the title of the Dropbox folder. To do this:
- Click the down arrow next to the title of your hidden Dropbox folder (you will see a closed eye icon next to the title of any hidden Dropboxes in your list). Select Make Visible to Users. The closed eye will disappear.
If you decide later that you want to hide a Dropbox:
- Click the down arrow next to the title of the Dropbox folder you wish to hide. Select Hide from users. You will now see the closed eye next to your Dropbox folder title.
Note that if you have linked to a hidden Dropbox in the Content area, it will also be hidden from students there as well. When you select Make Visible to Users, the Dropbox will then be Published (made visible) in the Content area.